Konica Minolta Bizhub printers have the option to enable User Authentication and Account Track. These features allow administrators to restrict who can print to the Bizhub, as well as set limits by department to reduce costs.

In the Windows world, the User Authentication and Account Track features work intuitively. If enabled, when a Windows user attempts to print to the Bizhub, they will be prompted for their account information. Once entered, this info is remembered for future prints.

Unfortunately things are not this straightforward on the Mac side. If a Bizhub printer has User Authentication and/or Account Track enabled, the Mac user will NOT be prompted for their account information. The Mac will appear to send the print job normally, but nothing prints. This includes the using the OS X print queue’s “Print Test Page” feature.

This is especially confusing if you are setting up a Bizhub printer on a Mac for the first time. If you are unaware that User Authentication and/or Account Track have been enabled, nothing will print, and no errors or alerts will be given.

To enter User Authentication and/or Account Track information on a Mac, you must first open something to print to the Bizhub. This can be anything (Word document, email, webpage). Next go to File->Print, and then locate a pulldown from within the Print Dialog window that lists the option for “Output Method”. You may have to press the downward triangle icon to disclose this pulldown, and the pulldown may be named “Copies & Pages” or the name of the application you are using. After you have selected “Output Method”, you will see the options to setup User Authentication and Account Track.

After entering the appropriate User Authentication and/or Account Track information, the Mac will be able to print to the Bizhub… however these settings may not be remembered for future prints! This behavior varies depending on the version of OS X. If the setting is not remembered, you will need to create a print Preset, otherwise future prints will fail unless the user manually selects User Authentication and/or Account Track from the “Output Method” pulldown each time they print.

Setting up this print Preset is also done from within the Print Dialog window, when sending a print job to the Bizhub. First select User Authentication and/or Account Track from the “Output Method” pulldown, then click the pulldown to the right of Presets and select either “Save As” or “Save Current Settings”. When prompted for a Preset name, enter the name of the printer with a description (example: Bizhub C451 with Account Track). Also select that the preset is available for “only this printer”. After saving this Preset, it will be the default for all applications, and future prints to the Bizhub should work.